The Classic French Beret

Dear Readers,

Happy February to all of you! I hope January treated you well and let’s hope February is kind to all of us. With the beginning of the second month of this year the winter trends are still going in full swing and I decided to feature one of my favorite accessories in this post. Yes, I’m talking about hats! For “mad-hatters” like me who are obsessed with hats the fall is the perfect time to take out all their headgears for some PDA. They keep your crown and ears warm and they also spice up the entire look by adding a touch of style and Girl… you look cute as well. So it’s a “win-win” situation and too good a deal to ignore!

I have an uncanny fetish for hats and caps and have put together quite a nice collection so far I must say. I love wearing all sorts like the beanie, beret, boater, fedora, simple knitted ones, sun-hat, snapback and would happily try out new ones as they come along. However, since all of these hats are so different and have such unique and note worthy personalities of their own I thought it would be total injustice to put them all together in one post. Hence, I will be featuring them separately. The first one that I will be featuring in this post is the “beret” which is equally popular among both the sexes. Beret is an icon of the French fashion but has been accepted and worn all around the world, maybe it’s due to the simple fact that everyone wants to copy the French when it comes to fashion!

Berets are so versatile they’ve been adopted by revolutionaries, artists, fashionistas, the military, police, and the working classes. Berets aren’t the perfect hats for protecting you in the cold season, but their main function is adding aesthetics and refinement to the outfits.  It’s a soft, round cap that is flat at the crown and typically made of hand woven knitted wool or wool felt. The beret has been a timeless fashion statement that the French adapted and has been in the fashion scene since time immemorial. Archeologists found traces of hats similar to a beret around Europe, Italy and Denmark during the Bronze Age (3200-600 B.C.). They were all made of felt although the size and the shapes differed.

Young boy wearing a Petasos (Greece); Los Tres Reyes Magos (The Three Wise Men) wearing Pileus; Odysseus weaing a Pileus

Young boy wearing a Petasos (Greece); Los Tres Reyes Magos (The Three Wise Men) wearing Pileus; Odysseus weaing a Pileus

The beret did not have a very glamorous beginning as the farm workers from the French region of Bearn (southern France) used to wear a type of beret that became very popular among the French Pyrenees population in the 15th century. During the 1920’s that berets became associated with the working class in areas of France and Spain. By 1928 more than 20 French factories in addition to the Spanish and Italian factories produced millions of these caps. During the 1940s and 50s beret were considered more of a fashion item. The Americans were wearing this “French Beret” as a sportswear and as a fashion statement.

It’s interesting to find a clothing item that represents such antagonistic cultures: the war and the arts. Both the artists and the military have been wearing the beret, and both give it their own (and often opposite) connotations. Along with being an iconic emblem of a fashion and art Beret is also considered a Revolutionary symbol. Jazz trumpet player Dizzy Gillespie wore it often, and so did Marxist revolutionary Che Guevara, the Beat generation, French Infantry Commandant Soutiras, mega star Pablo Picasso, existentialist Simone de Beauvoir, and American writer Ernest Hemingway—and many peasants all around the world.

Like I mentioned previously this headgear is mutually appreciated and worn by both men and woman and it is one unisex item that looks equally good on both. Best of all, it can instantly transform a look, put on a beret, and suddenly you look serious, artistic, self-assured and even sexy. The runway fashion this fall has brought flirty berets back. Keeping the shape and texture of berets strict, fashion designers choose variety, when it comes to the size, color and print of berets. Especially popular are leopard printed berets this season. Berets can be seen at Chanel, Ralph Lauren, Dsquared2, Valentin Yudashkin and others.

The way of wearing a beret has no rule; you can wear it the way you want it to. You can either tilt it towards one side; pull it down to cover your forehead or simply wear it slightly tipped back. It is such a versatile piece that it will blend with any kind of personality and transform itself according to the person who is wearing it. It is a dramatic piece but has a very simple touch to it and I believe anyone can charmingly carry it.

You can get some inspirations from below:

Women wear beret

Women wearing beret

men

Men wearing beret

I usually wear hats during fall and this particular day I was wearing my beret. My friends and I were going for a short drive and we were casually clicking pictures when I realized that I should be featuring Beret in my next post as it is a perfect winter essential. So, do have a look at my OOTD, I have my emerald green circle skirt on teamed up with my brown sweater. To keep my legs warm I worm my black tights and stepped into my green flats and carried my black parka to keep the chills at bay. Last but not the least; I put on my favorite red wool beret which instantly pumped the entire look.

 

My Red Beret

My Red Beret

 

10965472_10153025354115196_235451119_n

 

 

Smile is my favorite make up...

Smile is my favorite make up…

 

_MG_0166

 

_MG_0169

 

 

 

_MG_0208

 

_MG_0212

 

fb

 

I hope you are inspired to try out berets now. Thank you for stopping by and don’t forget to like, comment and subscribe. Love you all. XOXO

Outfit:

Skirt – Forever 21

Sweater – Gift from Sister

Parka – Esprit

Shoes – DS Collection

Beret – Pieces

Bag – Cath Kidston

Accessory – Gift from Sister

Leave a Reply

